Took me a while…

on

Hello out there! I have been gone for quite a while because I just couldn’t wrap my head around sitting down and writing. I have always known that creative writing is not easy but for some reason I imagined that just writing about what I cooked would be a tad bit easier. No such luck! So bear with me if my writing today sounds mundane or bored… but I am trying… that has got to count for something, right? (Please say yes!)

It took me a while to write because it took me a while to get one or two basics right in my cooking repertoire. As I had gone on, at length about getting one’s basics right in my last blog, it bugged me a little that I hadn’t gotten everything down pat myself. I am happy to report that I have been having quite a success with nailing down my skills in the kitchen so it has been a bit uplifting.

“Fry onions till they are golden brown” has been the bane of my existence since I started cooking. Usually they turned out very dark brown (read “black”) or I would rush in with the next step and they were just opaque and all over the place! My problem, as I realized it was that I didn’t quite focus on this task, just rushed through it. Naturally, I had the heat on too high to get the onions to brown already and as soon as they changed colour and I got around to adding the meat or the gravy the heat would continue cooking them and so they would end up turning black. So, I focused on frying onions till they turned golden brown and I hit jackpot. Instead of having them on high heat all the time. I started on medium high and turned the flame on low as soon as they started browning on the edges. I have been meaning to take a picture of the golden brown perfection but am too scared to stop lest they burn! The colour of my curries is now brighter and quite pleasing on the eyes πŸ™‚Β The flavor of my curries also improved a great deal because it did not carry the heaviness and bitterness of burned onions.

I am a perfectionist so I had to make sure that I got this technique right every time, so I kept at it and managing heat and timing has really helped me get perfectly golden brown onions in all my attempts so far and I couldn’t be happier πŸ™‚

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tipsy Mind says:

    Sounds like the perfect onions πŸ˜€

  2. hynasami3 says:

    Golden brown onions are the foundation of a happy pakistani marriage! So it is no joke to get them right….show us more of what you have been cooking in your kitchen…..and this time with pictures please…

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Couldn’t have said it better myself! Will be posting blogs with pictures soon πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your appreciation and comments.
      xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

