Mixing it all together!

I was running out of inspiration today for what to cook so I took a look at what I had available and just started cooking. I added in things as and when I found them in my pantry or fridge, honestly! It happens to the best of us! And sometimes it works and gives delicious results. Although, I would caution against making a habit of this as it may lead to dangerous results to your reputation and someone’s digestive system (lol). Today’s post is more a page out of my diary rather than a recipe, because I literally put in everything I found without measuring or thinking (well maybe a little) but I’m not entirely sure if I will be replicating this exact version anytime soon. So please bear with me.

I found a piece of chicken breast in my freezer which I set out to thaw. Then I made a marinade of all the half-finished, about-to-go-bad ingredients I found in my fridge. This included about two tablespoons of low-fat yogurt to which I added a half a cup of cooking cream lurking in the back of the fridge. Then came a pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper, a capful of vinegar and the juice of half a lemon left over from the previous night. Interesting so far, right? Well I cut the chicken breast into small cubes and drenched them in the marinade for an hour. After which time I came back into the kitchen with no more of a vision of where this dish was going than when I had left ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m being so hilarious today, aren’t I ๐Ÿ˜‰

Any who, I put a large sautรฉ pan on the heat with some olive oil and a small knob of butter and added a teaspoon of minced garlic. Once the garlic was infused and slightly cooked out in the oil I added the chicken along with all the marinade into the pan. I let that simmer on medium high heat till the chicken was cooked through. While that was happening I went rummaging in the freezer again and found a small stash of spinach left-over. I took it and placed it in a bowl of a recently boiled water and it thawed out in a matter of minutes. I squeezed out all the excess water from the spinach and added it into the pan with the chicken. Another look in the fridge revealed a handful of cherry tomatoes I had bought for a salad earlier in the week. I cut them into halves and added them to the pan, now on a low heat. 

I thought I was done, when I found a small packet of fusilli pasta in the pantry. The pasta was boiled in a pot of boiling, salted water for about six minutes. I drained the pasta but saved a cup of the pasta water. Both the pasta and its water were added to the chicken, spinach and cherry tomato pan. As you can imagine, with all this back and forth between, fridge/freezer and pantry, I cooked down the sauce in the pan a bit too much. So I just added all the cooking cream in the pack in the fridge, no kidding! It turned into a silky sauce with the pasta water and olive oil, all melding into each other. And there you have it! I had served up the most amazing dish for dinner. Topped it off with the remains of some Parmesan also found in the freezer. Not only was Mr. Mazhar impressed but my very picky niece had herself a bowl full of pasta too. Which makes me and my sister very very happy, Alhamdulillah. 

And that wrapped up one more day of cooking for Mr. Mazhar. Not bad for a starting out with no inspiration, if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ™‚ hmmmm, what do I make tomorrow? Ideas, anyone?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    That issss inspiring! great start to the day..

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Thanks hyna! Love that you are always the first to read and comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. Nida Sami says:

      Couldn’t do this without your support hyna!

  2. hynasami3 says:

    Its a really good photo too – the whole “melding” process is evident….. I want some…

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Come and get it ๐Ÿ™‚ you are always welcome!

  3. nigamin says:

    Maybe Mr Mazhar is looking forward to chicken 65 or some burgers or veggie frirters

    1. nigamin says:

      Oooooh and Trimasu

      1. Nida Sami says:

        Thanks for the suggestions Fa.

  4. This is how some of my favorite recipes have been created- lack of inspiration and sudden desperation! This looks fabulous. If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post in my blog link up tomorrow. There’s a quick explanation on my main menu under ‘Tell ’em Tuesdays.’
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

Leave a Reply

