Baked Mustard Chicken

After quite a few weeks of cooking the same old, same old, I finally got to making something new yesterday. As I was rummaging through my freezer for my protein pick of the day I came across a packet of chicken thighs. I recalled having seen a few recipes on Pinterest that called specifically for chicken thighs – them being the darker, tastier meat and all. So next stop, Pinterest. After going through the gazillions of pins I have on my board “I heart Cooking!” I finally found a pin on baked mustard chicken that I wanted to try out.

A while back I had found a new range of French mustards in my local grocery store. Truth be told, they had really pretty bottles so I bought them. I didn’t really know how I would use them at that time. So it was great that this recipe called for both Dijon and Whole-grain mustard 🙂 I have to tell you that it was the first time I had used whole-grain mustard and it was awesome. The aroma as soon as I opened the bottle was enticing enough but the taste! Oh the taste! I’m hooked. I have a new favorite in whole-grain mustard. The grains had such a lovely texture and felt exciting in the mouth 😉 

The final product turned out pretty decent too. Mazhar liked it which was a big win. Have I mentioned before, Mazhar doesn’t like to try new things…he likes the same old, same old! Easy enough chap to please which is a win for me!

                                                                                                        

Ingredients 

For Chicken Rub

  • 900gm chicken thighs, bone-in, skin-on
  • 1 tbsp whole-grain mustard
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste

For Gravy

  • 2 tbsp whole-grain mustard
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard 
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2-3 tbsp chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary (or 2 tsp dried rosemary)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients of the chicken rub together and then spread all over the chicken thighs with your hands. Place the chicken in a roaster. Set aside.
  2. Mix all the ingredients for the gravy in another bowl. Add the chicken stock a spoon at a time to achieve a slightly runny consistency. Set aside.
  3. Place the roaster on the stove top with all the chicken pieces skin side down for 3-4 minutes. Turn over and brown the chicken on the other side. Take off the heat, add the gravy to the roaster and place the roaster in the oven. Roast till the chicken is cooked through for about 30-35 minutes. Check the chicken after about 20 minutes and rotate the roaster.  Serve immediately. 

You can have it on its own but we tried it with rice which I boiled in the leftover chicken stock and some Rosemary. A wonderful dinner for the weeknight. And it was surprisingly easy to prepare and cook. Happy cooking everyone.

  
  

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    Goodness…I can see the mustard seeds and I can hear the explosion of flavor in your mouth!
    Another recipe that you NEED to share is the rosemary roasted drumsticks….Rustic beauty…Can’t forget the aroma of rosemary….addictive..

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Thanks Hyna. Will share that recipe soon, in Shaa Allah. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

