Beat the summer heat!

With these cooling, refreshing and thirst-quenching drinks! They are an absolute treat for the whole family to enjoy and simple enough to make. My Abu (father) and my youngest sister are die-hard fans of these concoctions. My sister has been asking me to write a blog for these recipes for a long time now. With Ramadan (the Islamic month of fasting for Muslims) just a day or two away I wanted to try them out so that I get my flavours right. 

As a habit, I don’t keep tasting my food as I prepare or cook it. I usually taste it when I serve it for dinner. Sometimes if I’m unsure about the salt in a dish I take a little taste. So preparing food during Ramadan, while I’m fasting during the day, is not much of a problem for me. With these drinks though I wanted to be sure that I got the sugar levels right because the sweetness of the drink is really subjective to how one likes it….or rather how Mr. Mazhar likes it 😉 which is quite sweet indeed! So I was vey happy with my attempts last night. We had a few of our relatives over for dinner, last night, and they too thoroughly enjoyed the drinks! So happiness all around!

These drinks are also very refreshing after a day of fasting, especially for all those folks who have to work in the hot and humid parts of the world! But everyone can enjoy them! My only word of caution is to add the sugar a little at a time and keep tasting it to get the balance of flavours to your liking. In some parts of the world the sugar itself has varying levels of sweetness. That said, make it, drink it, and tell me you loved it!  đŸ™‚

Ramadan Kareem to all my Muslim readers! May Allah bless us during this month and accept all our efforts in worship (Ibadaat).

                                                                                         

Lassi (sweet yogurt drink)  

Ingredients 

  • 3 cups yogurt
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 cup crushed ice
  • 4-6 tbsp sugar
  • A pinch of salt

Method

  1. Put all the ingredients in a blender and blitz. That’s it! Enjoy!

                                                                         

Shikanjabeen (Pakistani lemonade)

Ingredients 

  • 3-5 lemon’s juice, squeezed
  • 8 cups cold water
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1-2 thin pieces of lemon rinds (optional)
  • 3-4 mint leaves, finely chopped (optional)

Method

  1. Put all ingredients in a large pitcher and stir till the sugar dissolves. Add a few ice cubes before serving. That’s it! Enjoy!
    One Comment Add yours

    1. Oneza Zaim says:

      both the recipe’s seem amazingly refreshing! will try soon InshaAllah

    Leave a Reply

    