Hot and spicy chicken and pasta bake

I tried a little experiment today and it turned out really well, if I do say so myself! On a recent grocery trip I came across these spice mix packets that come with a plastic bag and tie that you can use to marinade the meat and spice mix and you can just pop the same bag into the oven for cooking. I was sceptical about the flavours but thought the idea was pretty neat, especially in terms of post cooking clean up. Which in my book (or rather teeny tune kitchen) is a BIG plus 😉

It was the easiest thing to prepare. I just put the chicken, I used chicken breasts, into the plastic bag along with the spice mix and let it marinade for an hour or so. Then as per instructions on the packet I punctured a hole with a fork at the top of the bag, placed the whole thing into a roasting tin and popped it into the oven. Lo and behold 45 minutes later the most tender, moist, succulent and tasty chicken was absolutely ready to be devoured! And I was completely floored. This is the kind of innovation I loooooovvvvvveeeee! I just cut open the plastic bag, transferred the delicious chicken onto my chopping board and threw the plastic bag into the dustbin! And voila! Kitchen was clean. My roasting pan was spotless, nothing came out of the bag. Happy days for me!

However, I created a bit of a mess completely of my own accord. To make more of a meal than a few pieces of chicken, I decided to make a pasta bake dish with this chicken, since the oven was already preheated. I boiled some pasta, thawed some frozen veggies (peas, corn, green beans, carrots) and put them in the roasting pan along with the chicken, that I had chopped into small bite sized pieces. In a separate bowl I mixed together mayonnaise and fiery chilli ketchup (you have to try it if you haven’t done so already, it’s a grown up version of Heinz tomato ketchup, has a nice spicy flavour). I mixed that in with the entire contents of the roasting pan. Then I drizzled a little bit of Parmesan cheese on top and put in a few small knobs of butter in the corners and centre of the pan. I baked it uncovered in the oven for maybe 10 minutes and dinner was ready! 

The credit for this dish has to go to the spice mix because the chicken in itself was what brought a nice flavour to the entire dish. All I did was add volume to the dish to make it a meal.

Here is that wonderful spice mix, in case you would like to try it too. Happy cooking!

 

Below is a picture of the preperation instructions as mentioned on the packet. Really easy peasy!

   

3 Comments Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    Looks gorgeous Napa. Get your recipes together -I’m coming to your place soon enough Insha Allah.

  2. Yum love chicken and pasta. Thanks for sharing.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

