Apple crumble

I have a very sweet tooth and it couldn’t be more apparent from the fact that I have been on a roll with desserts these days! Only down side is that this cooking is not really for Mr. Mazhar because he doesn’t like desserts much. Eid, my sister’s visit from Karachi and my nephews’ vacations gave me an excellent opportunity to try out quite a few sweet dishes becaus otherwise if I make something I have to eat it all. Mr. Mazhar is quite the gentleman when we go out and tries desserts other people make but when at home  he is a bit rude 😦 and refuses to even taste my desserts. Having my family around gave me an audience to try out these sweet sweet dishes and we all enjoyed them a lot!

I’ve tasted quite a few apple crumbles over the years and I never really liked them. I’ve always found the taste of cinnamon to be quite overpowering and that combination just didn’t appeal to my palate. But this recipe is just perfect! Mazhar’s sister in law, Ghazal Bhabi, made this crumble at one of her dinner parties and I was bowled over! She was kind enough to share her recipe with me and I can’t stop making it! Allah help me! I think I might need to start an exercise blog to get back in shape after eating all these desserts! Thank you Ghazal Bhabi. This one’s for you…

                                                                  

Ingredients

Filling:

  • 6-8 red gala apples, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1-2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3-4 tbsp caster sugar
  • 3-4 brown sugar
  • 1-2 medium pieces of cinnamon sticks

Crumble:

  • 115gms cold butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour

Method

  1. In a large sauté pan place the apples, lemon juice, sugars and cinnamon sticks on a low flame. Let the sugar melt and the apples soften for at least 40-45 minutes. The mesmerising aroma of cinnamon and sugar mixed with the apples will be filling your kitchen and it’s amazing! Once cooked transfer the contents, except the cinnamon sticks, into a baking dish.
  2. In another bowl, measure out all the ingredients for the crumble. With your hands blend the sugars and flour with the cold butter till you achieve a crumble. You might need to add a little more flour to get the desired crumble effect but be careful and add only a small amount at a time. Otherwise the crumble will turn out too dry. Step 1 and 2 can be prepared the day before and will keep in the refrigerator just fine. 
  3. Once you are ready to bake the dish, preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celcius. Be sure to take the filling and crumble out of the refrigerator at least an hour before baking so that both are at room temperature. Cover the apples with crumble and place on the middle rack of the oven for 35-40 minutes or till the crumble turns a dark brown color. You could also turn on the overhead grill flame, if your oven has the feature, for the last 5-7 minutes of the baking time. This helps brown the crumble and gives it a special crunch! Serve with vanilla ice cream and you have a winner dish on your hands! Enjoy!

  

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kristenskitchencreations says:

    Yum! Apple crumble is one of my favourite desserts and your recipe sounds fantastic! My mouth is watering just looking at the picture of your crumble and I can’t wait to try this out! Also, I’d love it if you could check out my blog 😉

    https://kristenskitchencreations.wordpress.com/

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Thanks so much for your comment. I will definitely check out your blog too. Happy reading and writing!

  2. nigamin says:

    Oooooh melting in my mouth already

Leave a Reply

