Egg-citing breakfast!

With my family staying over at my place, I wanted to take the opportunity to try out new and egg-citing egg recipes I had saved on Pinterest. And let me tell you it was so much fun! I’m not a huge fan of eggs in general but this changed my mind…at least for the day 😉 by the way, Mazhar can’t start any day of the year without an egg, a piece of toast and a cup of tea! I mean this is no joking matter. In the beginning of our marriage I thought if he was late for work, it would mean I didn’t have to make breakfast – which in those early days seemed like a real chore! – but no sir! Come rain, hail or sunshine, Mazhar will not exit the house without an egg in his tummy! So this was a win-win exercise, Alhamdulillah!

 Omlette, hash browns and egg muffins!  

The reason I don’t like eating eggs on a consistent basis is that I find them to be a little monotonous with the same type of execution. Boiled, poached, sun-fried or omelette. But not today, I tried something new in both my egg recipes and they turned out to be great! I made a yummy omelette and some home-made hash browns but the showstopper for the day were the egg muffins. My nephew liked them so much he suggested I open a resturant that serves only these egg muffins all day long. He said he wouldn’t eat anywhere else except there 🙂 isn’t that the sweetest thing you ever heard! I have the best nephews in the world! Mashaa Allah. Not sure about a resturant based entirely on an egg muffin but a breakfast or brunch, definetly!

I got this recipe from a cooking show I had watched a while back on food network. It was easy to make and a lot of fun to eat. We tried it with toast and without it, we had it with a little garlic mayo and some peri peri sauce and it was well received all round. So do give it a try if you are handy with the oven. As that is the only hitch as I see it…the reason people find eggs convenient for breakfast is that they are easy to make with minimum mess, especially boiled, poached and sun-fried eggs. You just pop’em in a pan and you are done. Omelettes usually take a little preparation and some cutting, chopping, mixing but that is also not out of control as a little goes a long way. So for the muffins, the oven had to be preheated, the muffin tray had to be buttered and ready but once they were in the oven, the cooking time was under 20 minutes. Not too bad, me thinks 🙂

Here’s the recipe, as usual, I did modify it a little from the original because of our dietary restrictions and to better suit our taste palates. The real deal here is the execution, once you get that down, really the options are endless with what you can add into the muffins to make them your own. So enjoy and happy cooking!

                                                                       

Ingredients 

  • 1-2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 medium red onions, very thinly sliced
  • 400 grams button mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 150 grams red cherry tomatoes, cut into halves
  • 75 grams pitted black olives, chopped
  • 50 grams mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup full- fat milk
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp parsley, dried
  • 1/2 tsp basil, dried
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 30 grams Parmesan, finely grated

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius. Take a 12-hole standard muffin tin and brush each hole with the melted butter, covering the bases and sides.
  2. Heat the oil in a pan and saute the onions until soft, about 4 minutes. Place aside to cool. In the same pan sauté the mushrooms until soft, about another 4 minutes. In a bowl place the cooled onions and mushrooms and mix in the tomatoes, olives and cheese. Divide the mixture among the prepared muffin holes.
  3. In a jug (I used a large measuring cup), whisk the milk and eggs together and add the herbs, a pinch of salt and black pepper. Pour equal amounts into the prepared bases and sprinkle with the Parmesan.
  4. Bake until puffed up and set, about 15 minutes. Cool for a few minutes and then gently remove from the muffin tin.

 Hot and smouldering egg muffins! 

One Comment Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    probably the most fun way to eat eggs ever! Thanks Napa!

Leave a Reply

