Courgette fritters!

Sorry for the long break, from writing only mind you! I have been cooking everyday 🙂 I just got side tracked with a couple of other projects I had to get under way. Almost done, as my niece likes to say…but back on track with my blog!

Though vegetarian week is done and over with in my house, I am going to share the recipes I cooked in the last few days of the last week. More so for my friend, Cristina’s benefit and any other vegetarian readers out there and this recipe that I made on day 4 of vegetarian week is an absolute hit! I mean it’s a hit with everyone, whose anyone, whose ever said, I don’t eat vegetables! 

Once I was well under way with my interest in cooking, I had to learn new things and try new recipes and for that I needed books, lots and lots of books! I’m an avid reader and there is a sweet satisfaction, that a fellow reader will understand, with having a book to hold, pages to flip, pictures to look at and notes to write down or should I saw to personalise it! No doubt every recipe ever written in a book can be found (legally or otherwise 😉 on the Internet. But it’s just not the same as having it with you in your cupboard, at least that is the case with me. And so soon after I got reading on cookbooks, I developed a love for all things Nigella! Next on my bookshelf was her book titled quite simply and appropriately “Forever Summer”. 

In Karachi, Pakistan and in the UAE we thrive on more or less perpetual summer, with a few cold, breezy days thrown in, just to calm us down for the next wave of summer….and so this book has served up some really light and tasty meals in my home. One of the first things I tried from this cookbook was courgette fritters. They are absolutely delicious. You only have to try them once to agree with me whole-heartedly. You’ll see, just try it.

                                                                    

Ingredients 

  • 500 – 750 grams courgette (Loki), coarsely grated
  • 3-4 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 200 grams feta cheese
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 bunch mint, chopped (optional)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 140 grams all purpose flour
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste 
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • Olive oil for frying
  • 1-3 tsp lemon juice

Method

  1. Start off by coarsely grating the courgettes with a hand grater or food processor. Just be sure to you the wide blade, you don’t want to end up with liquid mush. Once grated place the courgettes on tea towels and leave for about 15-20 minutes to soak up all the wetness that the shards will release.
  2. In a mixing bowl, place the chopped spring onions, crumble in the feta, mix in the parsley (use fresh parsley if easily available), mint and paprika. Give it a good mixing and then add in the flour and seasoning. Next add in the eggs gradually and mix everything together, thoroughly. Now add in the courgettes. The batter is ready at this stage. If time permits I let the bowl with the batter sit in the fridge for about 8-10 minutes. I find the patties hold their shape better this way. But there is no problem in using the batter straight away.
  3. Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan. Use a tablespoon to dollop a heap full of the mixture into the hot oil. Use the back of the spoon to flatten the mound a little and shape it into a cake form. Cook the patties for about 2 minutes or till they turn a lovely golden colour on each side. Once ready, transfer the patties into a colander lined with kitchen towel papers and then place onto the serving platter. Sprinkle some lemon juice on top of the patties and eat immediately. 

Hope you enjoy these fritters and make them again and again. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

