Fishy request ;)

Seafood is popular with a lot of people and I get a lot of requests from family and friends to try out and share new recipes. A lot of them say that they feel stuck in a rut preparing seafood the same way over and over again. That happens sometimes. Since Mazhar and I both like seafood I do try new different recipes to keep things exciting 😉 

The recipe I’m sharing with you here is one we both like a lot and so this version is quite a regular feature on our dinner table, also because it’s a perfect way to boost some vitamin D intake in our bodies (both of us tested deficient). I know you will say that it’s fried fish, how can it be good for you. Well to make my case I will say that I use olive oil and very little of it since the fish doesn’t take too long to cook through. But then again, everything in moderation is acceptable. So make sure you finish the rest of the week with healthier meal options 😉 

Oh I have to give credit where it’s due. We tried this recipe at my elder sister’s house for the first time. It’s one of her pîece du resistánce! And I will also confess that her fish tastes better than mine. She is a great cook, Mashaa Allah! This is a simple recipe as you will se below. Do try it. I’m sure you and your loved ones will enjoy it a great deal. Do share your experiences with me.

                                                              

Ingredients 

For the marinade

  • 4 fillets of white fish, cut into medium sized pieces
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 tbsp red pepper chilli powder
  • 1 tsp English mustard
  • Salt, to taste

For the batter

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1/2 cup gram flour
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp crushed red chilli flakes
  • 1/2 can of club soda or 1/2 glass of chilled water, add gradually
  • Oil, for frying 

Method

  1. In a shallow dish mix together all the ingredients for the marinade and make sure a that the fish is covered with the marinade to ensure its flavoured through. Leave the fish to marinate for 15-20 minutes.
  2. In another bowl mix together the ingredients for the batter. You can add any other herbs or spices in the batter that you like. You can make it as spicy or mild as you like. So be adventurous! But make sure not to make the batter too runny otherwise it will not stick to the fish. You may want to flour the fish before you dip it in the batter, but I’ll be honest, I haven’t tried that yet.
  3. In a large frying pan, pour enough oil to deep fry the fish; heat it on a high flame. Be careful not to let the oil start smoking. Control the flame as you cook. Now dip the fish pieces in the batter and drop in the hot oil to fry. As they turn crispy, golden brown, take them out on a platter lined with kitchen paper to soak up the extra oil. Serve with some lemon wedges and squeeze the lemon juice over the pieces as you eat. I usually have the fish with tartar sauce and it’s a perfect combination.

What did I tell you! It’s as easy as 1-2-3! Try it and I hope you enjoy it. 

Happy cooking, dear readers 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

