Childhood Memories…

There are some memories that are so vivid in my mind that all I have to do is see something, smell it’s aroma, rich, warm, wafting from the kitchen, and I’m ten again…watching my mother getting my favorite dinner ready, while I play with my younger sister! Those were the days… Moving on in life has its fun days but nothing, and I mean nothing, beats one’s childhood – days of carefree activities and zero responsibilities! 

Yesterday was a day when I felt especially nostalgic and missed my Ammi more than I do everyday. So it occurred to me to cook one of her personal recipes. She formulated this recipe to give us a new taste to try and of all her kids I fell head over heels in love with this dish. I can’t tell you how many times I asked her to make me some vegetable rice. She always did. I love my Ammi! xoxoxo

It’s a very simple recipe and you can easily increase the quantities to feed more people. It has a lot of butter but that was my mother’s way of showing love. In the words of Mrs. Julia Child, “you can never have enough butter” 🙂

                                                     

Vegetable rice

Ingredients 

  • 450 – 500 gms frozen mixed vegetables, thawed
  • 2-3 tbsp water
  • 200 – 250gms butter
  • 4- 6 tbsp soy sauce
  • 4 cups basmati rice, washed and soaked for 30 minutes
  • 8 cups water

Method

  1. In a saucepan, place the mixed vegetables with a little water, just enough to create some steam that softens the veggies. Turn the heat on low and cover the saucepan with a lid. Let it cook for five to seven minutes or until the veggies feel soft and tender. Keep checking the peas and be careful not too overlook them otherwise they will get mushy.
  2. As soon as the vegetables are steamed, add the butter and let it melt and gloss all over them. Then spoon in the soy suace. I recommend adding a tablespoon at a time so that you can control the saltiness to suit your palate. But remember that the veggies are going to be mixed in with plains rice so that the overall saltiness will be dampened.
  3. In a separate large pot place the rice and water together and bring it to the boil. Let the rice boil for 8-10 minutes and then drain the rice in a sieve. Now in the same large pot spoon in a layer of half the rice to cover the bottom of the pot, then spoon over a layer of the vegetables, layer over with the other half of the rice. Cover the pot with a tight fitting lid and place the pot on the lowest flame. Let the rice cook for 15 minutes. 

Dinner is ready! Didn’t I say this recipe was easy! Enjoy this warm, buttery, salty, fragrant rice and vegetables dish. Try it and I’m sure that it will become your family favorite meal time too. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

