Potatoes and Spring Onions

I grew up with this dish on our dinner table quite often and I thought it would be quite a regular feature in other Pakistani households. It certainly looked and tasted like traditional Pakistani food! So it came as a huge surprise to me that Mr. Mazhar had never heard of this combination. As it turned out a lot of people did not know about this simple yet extremely delicious recipe. Then when I thought about my friend, Cristina, who had requested that I write some vegetarian friendly recipe, I thought this is going to be a sure winner. Although I will admit, with some shame, that I didn’t photograph the dish to do justice to it’s praise in this post. Next time I cook this wonderful delight I’ll be sure to update the picture here. And it won’t be too long, I promise.

Recently I made this recipe as a side dish to a meal for a dinner party I had for close family and relatives. Two of my cousins were clamouring over this dish to make sure they got some more before it finished. Mazhar was taken aback by its popularity, being the meat-lover that he is, but he got upset at me for not making enough of the dish to make sure we didn’t run out. I told him I made a lot but I wasn’t counting on people skipping the mains for the sides! You can never plan for that, can you? Besides cleaning and chopping spring onions in bulk is no easy task! Both my cousins asked me for the recipe right then and there and both have gotten back to me since to let me know that they cooked the recipe themselves. That’s right, it’s so easy that they didn’t even bother their wives with it. So here goes…

                                                  

Potatoes and Spring Onions

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2-3 medium size potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 3-4 bunches of spring onions (with leaves), roughly chopped 
  • 2 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • Salt, to taste
  • 2-3 small tomatoes, finely chopped

Method

  1. In a large sauté pan, heat the oil on a medium high flame. Add the potatoes, spring onions, spices and seasoning. Mix everything together and cook for a minute or two till the onions start turning translucent. At this stage turn the flame on low, cover the pan with a lid and let it cook for 10-15 minutes. Keep checking and running a spoon through in between to make sure that the veggies don’t catch on the bottom of the pan. If it looks like it’s catching, pour in just a tablespoon of water.
  2. After 15 minutes, add the tomatoes. Cover and cook for another 15 minutes. Take a spoon or fork to test that the potatoes are tender. Once they are tender and if there is too much of the liquid released from the tomatoes turn up the flame and dry out the water a little. Don’t overdo it though, you will need some of the moisture because that where the flavours at! 
  3. That’s it! There is no third step to this easy leash recipe, ready in 30 minutes, give or take a few! Can you beat that! The down side, at least for me is that I can’t wait to eat it. Honestly I have a hard time waiting for dinner time and Mazahr to come together. I want to eat this yummy dish as soon as it’s ready! 
Leave a Reply

