Chocolate cake for a pot luck dinner!

So I was invited to a pot luck dinner party recently and the hostess asked me to bring dessert. As usual I wanted to try something new so I sat down with all my cookbooks and went through so many recipes that my head started swimming in chocolate overload! After a few hours I was so exhausted mentally that, as usual, I opted to try an easy peasy recipe. I found just the thing in this recipe from The Australian Women’s Weekly Cakebaking magazine. For starters I had all the ingredients for the cake at home. I was especially intrigued to try out the peanut butter cream frosting. Peanut butter and chocolate is an old and time tested combination but it’s not very popular in Pakistan. I was a bit apprehensive since I was baking for a Pakistani crowd and some very keen and vocal epicureans so if this didn’t hit the mark for their palates I was going to hear about it.

But they don’t call me Nida the Super for chickening out. I pulled my apron strings tight and got down to business. It’s a simple recipe to follow. The original topped the frosting with peanut brittle and caramel popcorn but there is a fine line between bravery and a suicide mission that I wasn’t going to cross 😉 You are most welcome to try it out with the popcorn. Tell me how it tastes 🙂

Here goes:

                                                         

Peanut butter frosted chocolate cake

Ingredients

For Cake

  • 185 grams butter, softened
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 50 grams cocoa powder
  • 125ml boiling water
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 330 grams caster sugar
  • 225 grams self-raising flour
  • 75 grams plain all purpose flour
  • 180ml buttermilk

For peanut butter frosting 

  • 125 grams butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 240 grams icing sugar
  • 190 grams peanut butter (crunchy)
  • 2 tbsp milk

Method

  1. Start with pre-heating the oven to 160 Celcius (325 Farenhiet) and then buttering your cake pan. The original recipe calls for a 9-inch square cake pan but I used a 9-inch round cake pan and it worked just fine. Line the base with baking paper.
  2. In a medium bowl blend the cocoa powder with the boiling water. Whip it lightly to make sure that the cocoa dissolves completely. Set the bowl on the side to cool down a little.
  3. In another large bowl beat butter, vanilla and sugar with a mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, once incorporated, beat in the cooled cocoa mixture. Once everything is well mixed, sift in the flours and buttermilk in two batches alternating between the two. 
  4. Pour the mixture into the cake pan and bake for about 55 minutes. My advice is to start checking after 40 minutes to make sure the center is not over cooked. Once the cake comes out of the oven let it stand for 5 minutes before turning it over onto a wire rack to cool.
  5. In a medium bowl beat butter and vanilla together with a electric beater until as white as possible. Gradually beat in the icing sugar then add the peanut butter and milk. Beat until smooth. Make sure that the cake is cooled completely before icing it and remember to place it on your serving platter or cake plate before icing it. Otherwise you are entirely responsible for the repercussions 🙂

You can top the icing with peanut brittle pieces or caramel popcorn. I used crunchy peanut butter so we got a nice crunch texture and I topped that simply with chocolate sprinkles I had in my pantry. But you feel free to go wild with it. Most importantly remember to enjoy. Happy baking everyone.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    Yes Ma’am – that’s why we call you Nida – the super! Keep it up and PLEASE don’t stop writing. Your witty words are just as edible as your amazing food. Really hits the spot. Made my day!

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Thank you so much Hina – the great! I wouldn’t be anything without you!

Leave a Reply

