Taking a sweet turn!

The blog was looking quite savoury so I thought it was time to turn to desserts and do I have a doozy for you! This recipe is going to be our family legacy to be handed down to sisters, daughters, daughters in law and grand daughters… and it all started with my eldest sister, Nigar. She found this brownie recipe in an attempt to find a quick and easy dessert for her oh-so-much-sweet-loving boys and sisters. 

Nigar got married relatively early and my youngest sister and I are more or less growing up with our two nephews so when we were teenagers and they were adolescents the four of us were chocolate crazy! We were truly and utterly chocoholics but any other dessert would do as well. Now I can’t help laughing at the times when the four of us would fight to stake our claim on the last brownie. We even stooped as low as hiding brownies in our bedside tables and desk drawers just to make sure that we had the last bite! I remember asking Nigar couldn’t you please make double the batch so we wouldn’t have so many fights and she replied that the batch she was making was quadruple the original recipe! So…that’s a no? And I got such a stare down that it still sends shivers down my spine. So she kept making the same batch and we kept fighting over it. 🤣

As I mentioned Nigar started baking these brownies when we were quite young and she tweaked and refined this recipe so much that it is quite literally her fail-proof crowning glory! She is famous all over Abu Dhabi for it and we are all still crazy about these brownies. Recently I asked her for the recipe and she very graciously shared it with me and I am sharing it with you. Please make this recipe with the respect and love any family treasure deserves and it will be the most delicious addition on your dining table. Trust me when I say use this recipe very carefully and once you do be ready to take on requests to make it again, again, again and again…you catch the drift 🙃

I have to mention here that my sister’s recipe calls for using 3 eggs if you want a fudgy gooey center in the brownies or 4 eggs if you want it turn out more like a cake but where’s the fun in that when you want a brownie, right?  Now the thing that has to be clarified is that this rule holds if you are using medium sized eggs, weighing approximately 50 grams. I use large eggs, weighing approximately 60 grams so I had to revise the recipe accordingly. The other point to note is that you can multiply all the ingredients in the recipe but increase the number of eggs only one at time. So you can double the other ingredients but don’t double the eggs just use one more than what the recipe states otherwise you will have a goopy mess on your hands. I made my first batch with double the recipe measurements stated below. 


I placed a full plate on the table and by the time I got back with my camera, half of the plate was clean, all gone! So stock up on the ingredients and bake this over the weekend and you will have an amazing time for sure. Happy baking everyone!

Ingredients 

  • 100g milk chocolate 
  • 100g butter, un-salted, softened
  • 250g brown sugar
  • 2-3 large eggs, (for fudgy or cakey result, respectively)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence/extract
  • 100g all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder 
  • Dry nuts, chocolate chips, lemon/orange zest, optional 

Method

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees and lightly butter your baking pan of choice. You can use a cake tin (8×10″) or make cupcakes from the same batter. Just be careful that cupcakes will cook a little faster so keep checking on them.
  2. In a small saucepan, on a low flame, melt the chocolate, butter and sugar. Keep stirring the mix and don’t leave it alone otherwise it will burn. Once all the ingredients come together take off the heat and set aside to cool.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs then pour in the cooled chocolate and beat until well combined. Add in the teaspoon of vanilla essence or extract whichever is readily available.
  4. In another bowl mix the dry ingredients together. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix well to combine. You can add in any dry nuts, chocolate chips or citrus zest at this stage if you so prefer.
  5. Pour the mix into your baking tin and bake for 15-20 minutes. Start checking the center of the cake or cupcakes after 15 minutes to make sure you don’t dry them out. We are not looking for a squeaky clean skewer rather a thick gooey gunge is the desired result. Once you achieve that take the pan out of the oven and let the cake cool for 10 minutes in the pan then take it out of the pan and cut into small squares. Enjoy them warm, straight out of the oven or cooled down, have them with ice cream or hot tea or coffee, have them any way you like! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nigamin says:

    This particular blog was so inspiring that I ended up making a batch with my daughter. And we had a lovely family time. Now my son has gone to buy Vanilla ice cream to enjoy with his brownie…… yumm.

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Now that is motivational! For me and for you 👌🏼

Leave a Reply

