Pineapple upside down cake

Quite unintentional but weirdly coincidental… I’m in the mood for some oldie goldies. Pineapple upside down cake used to be all the rage when I was a little girl. One of our Aunty made the most delicious pineapple upside down cake and it used to be a must in all potluck dinners and picnics. I make this cake quite often as it is one of those classic desserts that is right on taste for a lovely, lovely end to a perfect dinner or even a great tea-time favourite. And it is soooooooo easy to whip together that making it almost as pleasurable as eating it! Ok eating it is more pleasurable but you get the idea 😜

A cousin of mine is studying in Hungary to become a doctor. She is in town on her semester break visiting her parents. When she called to say that she was coming over to have afternoon tea with me, my first thought was to make tea-time cake for them. So my home was filled with the warmth and inviting aroma of baking deliciousness when they walked in and all of them asked me to serve the cake as soon as possible. 


Typically this cake is made in a round tin with pineapple rounds decorating it, however, at such short notice I only hand some pineapple chunks in my pantry so I decided to make the cake in a loaf tin and it turned out really nice as well. Another typical feature of this cake is that glazed cherries are placed in the centre of the pineapple rings but I never liked their squishy texture in my mouth so I fill, rather stuff the pineapple centres with brown sugar which gives the cake a beautiful shine, amazing glaze and a lip-smacking, dark, rich flavour you can’t get enough of. Trust me, I have to give away the cake or I could eat the whole damn thing! So don’t say I didn’t warn you. Proceed with caution 😁 


I follow Nigella Lawson’s recipe to a “T” with the exception of skipping the glazed cherries and replacing it with brown sugar, as I mentioned earlier. So here’s the link to her recipe. Nigella’s pineapple upside down cake.

Make it and enjoy it with a warm cup of tea or coffee and let me know just how much you and your family or guests liked it. Happy baking everyone! Please remember to share your experience with me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. nigamin says:

    That’s so true. It’s one of those “nothing could go wrong kind of things”. Serve them at a picnic or with tea. Even as dessert. It’s simply warm and homely. Exactly how I feel about apple crumble….. I know most people love chocolate but even ardent chocolate fans also fall head over heels in love with this…… amazing….. thanks brings back tonnes of good memories.

  2. hynasami3 says:

    Rizwana aunty would be so proud of the perfect round cake with the glazing pineapples. To me this cake is about as thoughtful as someone can get.

  3. Sana Siddiqui says:

    Nida baji for once i had all the ingredients for the recipe you put up nd so without wasting any time i went ahead with baking this lovely cake as soon as I read your blog…and it turned out great …haven’t tasted it yet but I’m sure it will be delicious…me and saim can’t wait for salik to be home 😉😉😎😎😂😂

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Oh I’m sooooo pleased to hear that! Please share a picture of the cake and of the happy family enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

