Simple can be tasty too…

After weeks of trying something new and something old with new twists, I just couldn’t think of what to make for dinner tonight. I even tried to solicit Mr. Mazhar’s help and asked him what should I cook? but as usual my lovely husband replied I will eat anything you make. So needless to say I was on my own to rack my brains for ideas. Those in this part of the world would agree with me that the weather in Abu Dhabi has been absolutely dreamy! Cloudy, breezy with light scatters of rain ☔️ . Taking this opportunity to enjoy the weather and seeking inspiration for dinner ideas, I headed out for a walk. It was a beautiful experience and one I’m glad I availed at the right time, as winters here are extremely unpredictable and short lived. While on my walk I was inspired to have a light, refreshing and simple dinner ready for when Mr. Mazhar comes home, using one of his absolute favourite ingredients – eggs!


Another reason for this inspiration was that for the past two days both Mazhar and I missed our morning alarms so that by the time we woke up there wasn’t enough time for breakfast. Mazhar had gone to office both days with just a cup of tea and a plain slice of bread. This for a man who has an egg a day, every day! So I imagined he must have been missing his egg fix. 

There really isn’t much of a recipe here, it’s just scrambled eggs but with a Pakistani twist. These scrambled eggs are referred to with different names, some people call it masala eggs, others call it “khagina” or “khogina” in Urdu. The spicy loving palate of Pakistani only means that these eggs are heavy on the spicy with lots of chilli 🌶  along with onions and tomatoes. I used cherry tomatoes because Mazhar has acquired quite the taste for these little gems of tomato-y goodness. Slightly sweet, slightly tart and just the perfect size with nothing going to waste.  

I have learned a few tricks from different chefs along the way to make scrambled eggs light and moist. I will share those with you here and you can enjoy this wonderful recipe for breakfast, lunch or dinner for when you run out of ideas. Or when the weather is just too beautiful to spend too much time in the kitchen 🙂


Ingredients 

  • 3 large eggs, whipped
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder, or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp garam masala 
  • 1 tbsp peri peri sauce, optional
  • 1 tbsp butter or ghee, additional 1 tsp 
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped 
  • 2-3 cherry tomatoes, quartered 
  • 1-2 green chilli, finely sliced
  • 1-2 tbsp milk

Method

  1. In a medium bowl whisk the eggs well, with a spoonful of milk to get a beautiful consistency, then add in all the spices. I add the peri peri sauce because Mazhar and I like it and it gives a slightly tangy flavour to the eggs. But this is defiantly a taste preference, so please leave it out if it doesn’t satisfy your taste palate. Give everything a good mix.
  2. In a frying pan, on medium heat, add the butter or ghee, whichever you like to use, and then add in the onions. Sauté the onions till soft and translucent, then add in the tomatoes. Cook for a few minutes till the tomatoes are soft and have released some of their juices. Then put in the green chilli, cook these for just 10-15 seconds, careful not to burn them. 
  3. Now tip in the eggs mixture and immediately turn the flame on low. Let the edges of the eggs set, swirl the pan a few times to get some of the liquid towards the edges. Once you feel the bottom has cooked enough to set but there is still some liquid in the pan, start scrambling the eggs gently but quickly. Cook for a few minutes and then pour in a tablespoon or two of milk over the eggs and let them soak it all in. This is a trick I learned from Masterchefs Gary Mehigan and George Calombaris to give the eggs a smooth and a moist texture. Another trick they shared was to finish off eggs of all types with a tablespoon or knob of butter to give them a beautiful and professional gloss. Trust me, something as simple as a little butter elevates an ordinary, every day dish to Masterchef level.

Dinner (or breakfast or lunch) is ready to enjoy! At my request Mazhar bought home some delicious Malabar parathas, a delicacy special to the UAE. You can enjoy this dish with toast, roti or even croissants. That’s it for tonight let’s see what I will cook for Mr. Mazhar tomorrow night. Good night and happy cooking everyone.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Me too I love eggs every day !!!

Leave a Reply

