Cheesy Chicken Casserole 

I was going through Pinterest a few days ago and I came across some pins that claimed the ever-wonderful concept of one-pot wonders for dinner. I do all the washing up myself in our household, mainly because Mr. Mazhar does such a bad job of it that it upsets me even more to wash up a second time that I’d really rather just do it the once and go to bed with the peace of mind that my kitchen is sparkling clean, Alhamdulillah.

Anyhow, I was intrigued at the thought of putting together all the ingredients of a recipe in one pot and cooking it, rather baking it so I decided to give a particular recipe a try. One caveat though was that the recipe called for a rotisserie chicken, so preferably you bought the whole chicken cooked and just have to shred the meat off the bones or you will have more than one bowl to wash up later, if you decide to poach or roast a whole chicken at home. Since, Mazhar office is right next doors to a Spinney’s (a local retailer of imported groceries, catering especially to European buyers), and they have a delicatessen section where they have among other foods rotisserie chickens in different flavours. I asked him to get a salt and black pepper chicken because this recipe was going to introduce a lot of flavours. 

One another adjustment I made was that I skipped the garlic powder as mentioned in the recipe because I didn’t have any at hand. I have feeling that it may have enhanced the flavour of the dish so I have mentioned it in the ingredients below and will defiantly add it in the next time I make this recipe. 

It was an easy recipe to pull together especially because chicken was store bought and it did have a different flavour profile to anything I have made before. Since I had to bake a big batch and there is only the two of us at home so I shared the leftovers with my nephews, Zuhayr and Talal. They liked it but were not as enthusiastic about it as they are or have been over my other experiments so I am a little iffy about this. But since I had put in all the effort and the pictures came out well I thought I’d write a post about it anyway. So why don’t you try it and tell me how you and your family liked it and we can compare notes. Happy cooking everyone!!
Ingredients 

  • 2 cups of rotisserie chicken meat, shredded
  • 1/3 cup ranch sauce
  • 1/3 cup BBQ sauce
  • 3-4 spring onions, finely sliced, reserve some for garnish
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup Gouda cheese, shredded 
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded 
  • Red chilli flakes and green capsicum for garnish, optional


Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celcius and butter your casserole dish evenly. 
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, stir together the buffalo sauce, ranch, green onions, and garlic powder until combined. 
  3. In another bowl, combine the shredded Gouda and cheddar cheeses.
  4. Toss in the rotisserie chicken with the sauce mix, season and combine well. Spoon into the baking dish and top with cheddar and gouda and garnish with some chilli flakes and capisicum, if you like. Bake until cheese is completely melted and bubbly, 20 minutes.
  5. Let the dish cool for 10 minutes, then drizzle with a little more ranch sauce and garnish with green onions and serve.


Leave a Reply

