Out of sight but never out of mind…

on

Dear Readers, 

I feel quite sad and guilty for giving up on my passion for cooking and writing so soon after making such a strong personal resolve to not let myself lose track of my blog 😔. I have learned that if this to be something meaningful then it has to be a commitment that I am willing and able to follow through on. And I have also learned that cooking and writing require time, focus and attention. I’m not an expert chef nor a published author and so I can’t (and honestly don’t want to) just wing it. Neither do I want to make up stuff just to get a post out. I want to have an adventure (or misadventure), live it, feel it, taste it, smell it and then write about it. That is one reason that even though I love a few recipes of my family members, I keep asking them for the recipes so that I can try them out for myself and then write about it and not just copy paste their recipes. Long story short… I’m going to give it another crack if you will be so kind as to bear with me. 

I’m not attempting to make excuses here but I do want to share with you what has been happening for the past two months when in reality I have been cooking something almost daily! But just haven’t gotten round to writing about anything special. The first few weeks after my last blog post almost two months ago, my parents and youngest sister came to visit us in Abu Dhabi. We were so busy entertaining them and showing them around town and taking them shopping and eating out that I hardly had time during the day to attend to my daily chores before the next plan was hatched! But it was all great fun! Alhamdulillah! And I did a lot of cooking, mostly dishes I had blogged about that my family wanted to taste for themselves. So I guess, I got a little burned out by the time they left after a month.

One week after my family left, though, Mr. Mazhar caught a nasty flu bug and was in bed with fever, cough and cold for almost a week. I tried my best to stay safe but still was under the weather for a few days after he got better. I didn’t get the flu as bad as him but I did have a rather nasty cough which eventually led to a sharp pain in my left ear. We went to the hospital and I got a nebuliser treatment which, I have to say, worked wonders!! Needless to say that after that lethargy, procrastination and apathy all crept up on me and made me forget all about my blog…

But!! The year is not over and I’m not ready to call it quits just yet. I’m back and looking forward to sharing some new ideas and recipes with all of you reading my blog. Moreover I pray that I will not disappoint or disappear on you again! I can’t thank you enough for your patience and hope that you will continue to be a part of my journey through my cooking wins and fails, as I cook my way to Mr. Mazhar’s heart and hopefully build a small soft corner in your hearts too. 😘

Thank you and Happy cooking everyone!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hynasami3 says:

    The words are yours to write and the love is ours to give. Stay happy and cook up a storm – Will ya!!!

    1. Nida Sami says:

      Aye, aye, captain! 👩‍✈️

Leave a Reply

